Birthday Love

I’m often awed by the ease with which my husband expresses his love for me. Take for instance the dreaded birthday. The older I get, the less I look forward to the next one. Maybe it’s because I still feel like I’m 22 and not forty-two. 

Birthdays are a big deal in the Guapo family while in the Blossom clan, they are celebrated with much less fanfare. I mean, we Blossoms do it up with lots of food but we aren’t a demonstrative people in general. Our parties seem a bit lackluster in comparison to those the Guapos throw. 

And so for the first time in my life, there was a big to-do about mine. Mini-Guapo, who is eight years old, was excited about it all day, or so his teacher told us at school pickup. The fact that he and his older brother were so thrilled about someone else’s birthday really touched my weepy little heart. I love my guapo and bear cubs and am the luckiest stepmom I know. ❤️

A dozen red roses, delicious roast chicken, a mound of rice and beans, Guapo’s beloved tostones, and my three smiling men made up our family celebration. Not to mention the utterly delectable Circo’s chocolate mousse cake with the words, “Happy birthday, Panda” (my husband’s pet name for me) emblazoned across the top in pink icing.   

Best. Birthday. Ever. 😍 

Leave a Reply

