Siam Orchid 

Guapo and I had some time on my birthday before we had to pick up Mini-Guapo from school and he wanted to take me out for lunch. I have a particular fondness for southeast Asian cuisine and immediately seized the opportunity to suggest a Thai restaurant we’d walked past in Williamsburg some months ago. 

Siam Orchid is a teeny weeny hole-in-the-wall restaurant that seats all of a dozen people. This isn’t the place for folks who want exotic ambiance or those who dislike very cramped dining quarters. Frankly, I’m not entirely sure I’d want to eat here at peak meal time; I’d probably want to stab the person next to me for being practically in my back pocket. Luckily, we arrived after prime lunch time and had the place to ourselves. We were also right in time for their lunch special too so you know this tickled my cheap little soul! 

The lunch special includes a choice of either spring rolls or salad. Guess which we chose?

  

Guapo ordered the Thai basil beef fried rice

I was surprised: the food was simple but really good. So tasty, I wanted to tell Guapo, “Honey, look at that!” and steal all his rice while his head was turned. 😀 But I’m a nice wife who never wants her sweet husband to ever go hungry so I left his food in peace. He’ll never know how close he was to losing his entire meal! MWAHAHA! 

It’s not like I didn’t have a great dish myself. One of the reasons I love Penang curry so much is it reminds me very much of my grandmother’s ohno kow soi: Burmese spicy curry made with creamy coconut milk, chicken, lemongrass and other southeast Asian flavors.  

Penang curry with chicken

For under ten bucks per person, Siam Orchid’s lunch specials are terrific value.  I would absolutely go back, but for my fellow diners’ safety and my blood pressure’s sake, probably not during peak dining hours. 

Siam Orchid

378 Metropolitan Avenue

Brooklyn, NY 11211

Leave a Reply

