Crock-Pot® Lunch Crock® Food Warmer

A year or so ago, my friend R casually mentioned how her husband could use this new miniature slow cooker thing to keep his food hot at work because the office microwave, like so many across the country, is utterly gross, but bemoaned the fact that he’d never use it or remember to bring the metal insert home to wash. Knowing her husband as well as I do, I agreed such a fab item would be wasted on him.

For months and months after she told me of this wondrous doodad, I pined for the Crock-Pot® Lunch Crock® Food Warmer, and kept telling myself I’d buy it next week, next month, for my birthday, and so on. I even put it on my Secret Santa wish list last Christmas.

AND SOMEONE BOUGHT IT FOR ME!!

I seriously can’t begin to tell you how excited I was when I opened my gift. Hot food right at my desk and no waiting for a turn at the grubby office microwave!

Crock-Pot® Lunch Crock® Food Warmer

The cord, which is 3 feet long, wraps around the base of the unit and the plug tucks into a dedicated space on the very bottom. The lid screws on while the plastic inner cover snaps into place on the lightweight steel “crock”.

Cons:

  1. No On/Off switch; it’s on when it’s plugged in and off when it’s unplugged. I don’t mind this but others might. You can get around this by plugging it into a miniature surge protector or a timer,
  2. Spill-proof but not leak-proof. A possible workaround might be to place a sheet of plastic wrap between the snap-on lid and the insert, though you’ll have to remember to remove the wrap before plugging in the unit.
  3. The plastic snap-on lid can warp and thus cause some  leakage. I wouldn’t put the lid into the dishwasher.

Pros:

  1. It takes less than an hour to heat food all the way to piping hot;
  2. It’s portable and got a nifty little handle that makes me think of an old-fashioned lunch pail;
  3. It holds 20 oz of food (by volume), which I think is a decent-sized meal, particularly if the contents are really hearty. For someone who requires a little more food than that, you might want to round it out with a side dish;
  4. Great for those who are moving away from plastic food containers and microwave ovens

I love this thing so much that I ordered a second set AND an extra insert; the second food warmer base now lives in my office and I just bring to work the insert full of deliciousness. I can also pack my meals ahead of time so all I have to do is grab a metal crock and go. I’ve heated up stews, mac and cheese, rice and veggies, mashed potatoes, pasta and sauce, soups, and casserole-y things in it.

I also may or may not have influenced my cousin, a former colleague, a friend and her BFF to each get their own. 😀

The cord wraps around the base of the food warmer

3 thoughts on “Crock-Pot® Lunch Crock® Food Warmer

  1. Pingback: 14 Day Spending Freeze: Day Two | the little lotus blossom

Leave a Reply

