Slow Cooker Sunday: Applesauce

It’s a day of firsts for me. I recently went apple picking for the first time with a lovely group of friends, and we came back with something like 50 lbs of Macintosh apples. After we spent the rest of the evening baking gigantic pies (which used up about eight pounds of apples) and washing down our Indian meal with copious amounts of wine, we all went home with a share of the autumnal booty.

What do I do with 10 pounds of apples, I wondered. Sure I could just munch on them (and I did) but there are only so many apples one can eat out of hand before one cringes at the very sight of them. Pie? I didn’t feel like making pie crust even though it’s not hard to do. Applesauce, however, seemed like an easy and less labor-intensive way to use up all those apples. Except I’d never made applesauce before. Thank God for the internet!

I wanted to use my slow cooker and make the applesauce overnight, and based on the recipes I read, there were few ingredients necessary other than apples, a touch of cinnamon, and the barest amount of sugar. So I peeled and chopped a bunch of apples, dumped them into the crock pot with cinnamon and sugar, and poured in a tiny bit of apple cider, and set the pot to cook on low for four hours, knowing the Warm setting would cook it down further.

The next day, I surveyed my masterpiece. The apples had cooked down to a chunky fragrant mush that I allowed to cool for an hour or two. Then I whizzed them in my mini food processor (our large one is showing its age and no longer does the job properly) until it was mostly smooth. So yummy and apple-y!

Sorry, I forgot to take a photo of the finished product. *embarrassed*

Slow Cooker Sunday Applesauce
Slow Cooker Sunday Applesauce

Applesauce
makes approximately a 1.5 quarts

3 lbs Macintosh apples, peeled, cored, quartered
1 TBS brown sugar
1″ long piece of cinnamon stick
1/4 cup apple cider or water

Combine all ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for four hours or until mushy and fragrant. Remove cinnamon stick and purée in a blender or food processor unless you prefer chunky applesauce.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sunday: Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Cranberry-Applesauce Cake | the little lotus blossom

  2. YUM-MEE! Macintosh are my favorite kind. I made my applesauce with the golden delicious but I bet this would be even better, since I like the apples better. I didn’t even think of that. I got some recipe off line and didn’t consider all the different versions that could be made due to the different apples. You’ve expanded my horizons! 🙂
    Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Making applesauce from scratch « G.I. Crockpot

Leave a Reply

