What to Do With Leftover Tomato Paste

I get really frustrated when recipes call for a very small amount of a particular ingredient because  that ingredient invariably comes in a larger size than needed.  Take tomato paste, for example.  How many recipes call for the entire 6-oz can at once?

Exactly.

I hate wasting ingredients so I try to freeze everything for later use. Like the half-can of tomato paste left over from when I made chili. I used my #70 ice cream scoop to scoop out individual tablespoons of tomato paste onto a foil-lined toaster oven tray and stuck it in the freezer. When the paste became solid, I tossed the balls into a ziplock bag, ready for use in my next tomato dish.

Leftover tomato paste

They look kind of like storm trooper helmets…

2 thoughts on “What to Do With Leftover Tomato Paste

Leave a Reply

