Slow Cooker Sunday: Chili

Now that autumn is finally here, I’m craving rib-sticking food.  Lots of it.  Even as I type, I’m eating my brother’s tasty bacon and Gruyère mac and cheese. Hardened arteries be damned!

But today I’m making chili.  Now, I’m sure you probably have a great slow cooker chili recipe already, but I don’t and have to keep trying different ones to find one I like.  Though if you want to share yours, feel free to do so in the comments! 🙂

Don’t hurt me but I don’t really care about authenticity when it comes to chili, I just want it to make my taste buds happy. So I took inspiration from several recipes I found and made my own.

Chili
3 TBS olive oil
2 large onions, peeled and chopped
6 cloves garlic, smashed
1 small bell pepper, chopped
1/8 cup tomato paste
1/4 cup chili powder
2 TBS ground cumin
1 tsp paprika
2.5 lbs 93% lean ground beef
1 28-oz can tomato purée
1 28-oz can diced fire-roasted tomatoes (if you can’t find this, regular diced tomatoes are a fine subsititute), undrained
2 minced canned chipotle chiles in adobo
2 15-oz cans black beans (pinto beans are fine too), drained and rinsed

Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add onions, garlic, pepper, tomato paste, chili powder, cumin, and paprika, and cook until onion and peppers are soft and lightly brown, about 8 minutes.

Lightly brown the aromatics and spices

Stir in the beef, breaking up any large pieces with a wooden spoon, and cook until no longer pink, about six to eight minutes. Stir in some of the diced tomatoes and scrape up any browned bits, then transfer everything to slow cooker.

Stir in remaining ingredients, cover and cook 6 to 8 hours on low or 3 to 5 hours on high.

Remove fat from surface with a large spoon after letting chili rest for five minutes.

Cooked chili

As with most stews and braises, chili tastes better the next day, but I won’t judge you if you decide to dip into your slow cooker chili as soon as you lift the lid.

Served with diced avocado, sour cream, and crumbled bacon, which I only remembered to add AFTER I took this photo.

Once I’d topped my bowl with the avocado, sour cream, and bacon, I added a dash of Frank’s Hot Sauce and took a bite. Slightly smokey from the chipotle, hearty with beans and ground meat, and warm with cumin, this is exactly the sort of chili that makes me happy.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Sunday: Chili

  1. Pingback: Turkey Chili in the Slow Cooker « Andrea's Garden Cooking

Leave a Reply

