Slow Cooker Sunday: Vegetable Soup

Autumn is truly my favorite time of year.  It doesn’t last very long in NYC, or at least, it doesn’t last long enough for me! Autumn means crisp blue skies, cool weather, light sweaters, tights and boots, and soup! I love soups and stews!

As an omnivore, I’ve been trying to make it a point to lean on the vegetarian side of the fence, partly because it’s just healthier and easier on the body, and partly because meat can be quite expensive if I happen to buy it when it’s not on sale.  Don’t worry though, I will never give up animal products, I just want to eat a little less of them.

So I’ve been on the hunt for a nice veggie soup recipe and have been kind of frustrated by the number of recipes I found that included meat in some way.  Bacon for smokiness and saltiness, ham hocks for depth, beef bones for richness, that sort of thing. Ordinarily I’d just toss in the meat and let it flavor the broth, but I really wanted a vegan-friendly soup, and I wanted it to be hearty.

I threw in sliced button mushrooms, kale, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, parsley, diced tomato, and cannellini beans.  But what else could I add to make it hearty enough to be a meal on its own?

Enter Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend. It’s a mix of some of my favorite grains:  Isreali couscous, split lentils, orzo, baby garbanzos, and red quinoa. Love this stuff!

Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend

Rough chop celery, carrots, and onion

Diced tomato, veggie stock, 2 bay leaves, two sprigs of thyme, and 3 cloves of garlic

Brown the mushrooms in olive oil

Toss celery, carrot, and onion in with browned mushrooms and cook until onions are soft and translucent. Add a little broth and scrape up any brown bits from the bottom of the pan.

Fresh kale

Dump all ingredients into slow cooker and cook on low for six hours

The finished product. Salt and pepper to taste and serve with crusty baguette.

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sunday: Vegetable Soup

  1. wow – this looks amazing (nice photos too!). Nothing beats soup this time of year. Autumn over at your place? Its winter wonderland (yet cold) over in Norway these days. THanks for sharing! /Louisa

  2. Pingback: Meatless Monday – Vegetarian Cassoulet « Angies Grapevine

Leave a Reply

