Lazy Blogging

I’ve gotten away from posting about the restaurants I visit, partly out of laziness and partly because I feel as if I’m not on the cutting edge of the culinary world. Who wants to read about a restaurant that’s been visited by every Tom, Dick, and Harry? I also often feel a little overwhelmed by my need for perfection. As if every moment in my dining life is to be orchestrated and presented like a work of art. All that pressure makes me want to post less and less.

That’s one of the reasons I don’t blog as regularly as I should. In my Xanga days, I didn’t feel the same drive to present a perfect face to the world; I just wrote whatever the hell I felt about the dining establishments I visited and didn’t care whether people liked it and I had fun doing it. I really want to get back to that.  Well, perhaps not quite all the way back; I do care about what you think but I don’t want it to rule everything I write.

So I’m going to try to reclaim some of the fun. Some of the restaurant reviews I plan to write are older and probably are no longer relevant. But I feel the need to write about them, to remind myself that it’s all right to take my time because this blog is mostly for me. It’s a record of who I am and what makes me happy. I hope it makes you happy too.

Leave a Reply

