Rehoboth Beach, DE: Roasted Chickpeas

Not too long ago, my very dear friend R and I went on a three-week detox diet that was vegan for her and mostly vegetarian for me. I fell off the detox wagon and was run over by it at the 2.5-week mark when I went to the Adirondacks with J and C.  R, however, is made of much sterner stuff than I; she not only lasted the full three weeks, she decided to extend it another three weeks. I am in awe of her steel will (and possible insanity).

What’s involved in this detox, you ask? Well, I’ll tell you what’s NOT involved: no animal products, low to no salt, no sugar, little to no oil, low carb, and no condiments except vinegar. It’s essentially a whole-foods vegan diet with a few extra restrictions.

For R, who is a vegetarian, this detox was a tough but doable goal because she didn’t have to get used to avoid eating meat but did have to break the habit of reaching for dairy and oil. For me, it would have been way too unsustainable for me to go from being an omnivore straight to veganism, so I modified it to allow some animal products (eggs, very limited dairy) but kept my meals low salt and low carb and no animal flesh.

Once we’d settled into the house they’d rented, R and I contemplated the food situation and what sort of meals I could prepare that were detox-friendly. There was the added complication of her father-in-law staying with us who is a Type I diabetic, so anything I prepared had to be friendly to him too.

Chick peas to the rescue! Chick peas, or garbanzo beans, are not an unusual ingredient in R’s culture, but they are in mine, so this was sort of new territory for me. I decided to make a spiced roasted chick pea snack for R thanks to my invisible friends’ influence. Seriously, I don’t know what I’d do without them, except maybe not sound crazy when I say “my invisible friends”. 😀

It was super easy to make. I opened a can of garbanzos, rinsed and picked through them to remove the loose skins floating around (because these will burn before the beans roast through), and spread them out on a rimmed baking sheet and roasted them in a 350F degree oven for about 20 minutes or until crisp. Let them cool completely before storing in a ziplock bag or container or they’ll get soft and chewy.

I later made another batch, this time tossing the beans in a mix of spices (cumin, chili powder, garlic and onion powders, and cayenne pepper) before roasting.

Leave a Reply

