Girls’ Weekend in Lake Placid, NY

Oatmeal. The word tends to make me shudder a bit. I’ve only ever had the quick-cooking kind that comes in a cardboard tub and the instant stuff. Both leave me wanting. I pretty much only ever eat oatmeal as an accompaniment to fruit and sugar.

So when J said she would make her apple steel-cut Irish oatmeal with brown sugar, cream, and dried cranberries, I was super excited to try it. To be honest, she had me at brown sugar and cream. The cool thing about it is she used the crock pot and cooked our breakfast overnight! No early morning fussing necessary!

20120801-225946.jpg

We were in a tizzy trying to get the cabin cleaned up before we left and I didn’t have time to eat more than one bowl, but holy crikey, that was seriously the best oatmeal I’ve ever had!  It wasn’t gloppy or gluey, not too sweet but sweet enough, and this one bowl kept my tummy satisfied for several hours.

Which was good because the traffic back to NYC was crazy.  I’m looking at YOU, dude in the bright blue Nissan hatchback who drove 15 mph UNDER the limit for MILES down the mountain! Even I, the granny driver, was getting frustrated!

Anyway, J’s fab oatmeal kept me from gnawing my own arm off for about 150 miles.  It was probably one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time!

P.S. I will talk about what I cooked this weekend in future posts!

EDITED to add: J was kind enough to post her oatmeal recipe in the comments, so check there if you are interested in using it!

5 thoughts on “Girls’ Weekend in Lake Placid, NY

  1. Hello! What a wonderful weekend of food and fun. Here is the recipe for the steel cut oatmeal (I’m J).

    1 cup steel cut oats
    1/2 cup dried cranberries
    3 cups apple juice (or cider)
    1 1/2 cups whole milk
    1/4 cup packed brown sugar
    1 tablespoon cinnamon

    Put everything except the cranberries in the crockpot. Give it a stir and cook on low for 8 hours. I add the cranberries about a half hour before serving. You could probable substitute soy or almond milk for the whole milk. It just won’t be as creamy.

Leave a Reply

