Chicken Salsa Soup

On one of the forums in which I participate, my invisible friend (who jokingly calls herself the Ghetto Gourmet) suggested I try this yummy recipe involving leftover chicken and salsa.  I happened to have black bean and corn salsa on hand, so I tossed that into a pot filled with shredded leftover Persnickety Chicken, and added a can of chicken broth.

Holy crap, it was good!  If I’d had any tortillas, I’d have fried some up to top this soup with it, but it’s unnecessary.  So tasty and so freakishly easy, I don’t even need to write out a recipe for it but I will anyway!

Chicken Salsa Soup

  • 1 cup shredded chicken
  • 1 jar salsa of your choice
  • 1 cup of canned black beans, drained and rinsed (use this if your salsa doesn’t have beans in it)
  • 14.5 oz can chicken broth (if you have homemade, all the better)

Optional garnishes:

  • Chopped cilantro
  • Fried corn tortilla strips

In a medium sauce pan or soup pot, combine chicken, salsa, beans (if using), and broth and bring to a simmer. Let it cook gently for about 10 minutes, ladle into bowls, and top with garnishes.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Salsa Soup

  1. Pingback: Blue Plate Special Soup « The Blue Plate Special

Leave a Reply

