Persnickety Chicken

This post is long overdue.  You see, I’ve been writing here and there about the slow cooker that The Persnickety Pleb so kindly gave me some months back, and I promised her that I’d create a dish in her honor.  I did, but never got around to writing about it.

Until now.

Persnickety Chicken, raw

I picked up a nice plump chicken to toss into the crock pot with the intention of making chicken soup but decided to do something else at the last minute.  Armed with a jar of sofrito (a sauce/base made of tomato, onion, garlic, green pepper, and cilantro), a whole onion, garlic and a fresh green bell pepper as well as a scant cup of chicken broth, I dumped the lot into the ol’ slow cooker and set it on low.  I chose not to add any additional salt as the sofrito is quite strong and salty on its own.

The result?  Tender, juicy chicken with loads of flavor!  I was right not to add additional salt to the pot, though if you like your food on the salty side, feel free to add a teaspoon or two.   I forgot to take a picture of the carved chicken—I was too eager to eat!

Persnickety Chicken

  • 1 4-lb whole chicken
  • 1 medium onion, cut into eighths
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 small green bell pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 6-oz jar sofrito

Toss all ingredients into slow cooker, being sure to pour sofrito over everything, and set on low for about nine to ten hours.  Serve with rice and beans.

3 thoughts on “Persnickety Chicken

  1. Pingback: Chicken Salsa Soup « the little lotus blossom

Leave a Reply

