ecoTools Bamboo 6-Piece Eye Brush set/Japonesque Travel Retractable Lip

As I put the NYX Nude on Nude palette into my shopping cart, I knew I was going to have to buy an eye makeup brush because whatever tool was included in the palette was very unlikely to be of much use (and I was right).  I also didn’t want to spend a ton of money on it because… well, because I didn’t know if I was going to be using eye shadow on a long-term basis and if I got tired of doing eye makeup, I didn’t want to have spent tons on it.

I went into the purchase knowing not to expect excellent-quality brushes considering the amount of money I wanted to spend.  I chose the ecoTools Bamboo 6-Piece Eye Brush set for $7 on Amazon (which is also where I purchased the NYX palette) based on the ratings it got.

When the package arrived, I discovered that the brushes are travel-sized.  I don’t know why I didn’t realize this when I bought it–after all, it comes in a travel case!  Duh.  I’ve since realized that I like the compactness of this set, but people looking for makeup brushes that are more substantial may be disappointed.

The largest brush is about five inches long while the tri-fold hemp/cotton case (there’s a mirror on one panel) measures about 6 x 3 inches when folded up.  The cruelty-free bristles are soft but not silky, and each brush handle is labeled with its intended use!  I’ve mostly been using the two smallest  brushes and haven’t the foggiest how to use the larger ones, especially the one marked Crease.  I mean, I don’t have a crease in my eyelids but even if I did, I’m not sure what using such a large brush is meant to achieve when an eyelid crease is so slim.  I have so much to learn!

Overall, I think this set is a pretty good buy for an eye makeup beginner.

As for lip brushes, I’d bought one from Clinique maybe 15 years ago; after a few years, the cap wouldn’t stay on, and surprisingly, Clinique allowed me to exchange it for a new one.  After a while, I got lazy and stopped using lipstick altogether and neglected my lip brush.  Which got all cruddy and gross over the years.  I could have put some elbow grease into cleaning it but decided I no longer wanted to deal with the possibility of losing a separate lip brush cap.  So this time, I looked for a retractable brush.

photo courtesy of Amazon.com

I settled on the Japonesque Travel Retractable Lip Brush in silver and boy do I love it!  No cap to keep track of, the brush length is long enough to get a good application but not so long that it’s ineffectual, and the handle feels sturdy.  It fits nicely in my makeup bag, which was an issue with the Clinique lip brush. It’s definitely a keeper!

I’d love to hear from more experienced people about these or other makeup brush brands they’d recommend and why!

Leave a Reply

