Stuff I Ate In California–San Francisco, Day 7

Even though I was really looking forward to going to LA/OC and seeing some old friends, I was feeling a bit depressed about leaving San Francisco.  Luckily I didn’t have to be at the airport until later in the afternoon, so I had some time to spend on more food.

I wandered all over downtown and Union Square in search of one last good meal but had no idea what I was in the mood for.  I was tempted to go back to Cafe Claude but I didn’t want to be tempted to linger in a post-meal coma and miss my flight (because you know that kind of stuff happens to me).  After passing numerous restaurants, I decided on a nondescript Thai place in FiDi (Financial District) whose name completely escapes me.

Which is probably best because the chicken panang and spring rolls I ordered weren’t anything special.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t horrible either, and I did enjoy it.  It was just kind of pedestrian.  I really wish my last meal in SF had been more memorable.

Photobucket
Photobucket

And because I can never get enough crème brûlée, I stopped by The Crème Brûlée Cart for the honey-vanilla as well as their Dulce de Loco to snack on at the airport.  As usual, the brûlée melted before I could get to it.  I don’t think I’ve ever actually broken the sugar crust on the crème brûlées I’ve had on any of my trips to this gorgeous city.  😦

PhotobucketThe Dulce de Loco crème brûlée; it looks like crème caramel.

I got to the airport super early and had plenty of time to eat my desserts in the waiting area.  Too bad I’d forgotten about SFO’s intensely strict security checkpoint.  Their TSA doesn’t let anything even remotely goopy get by.  Judging by my observations on my previous trip through SFO, even peanut butter is unacceptable.  I remembered the TSA’s persnicketiness just before I hopped in line and instead sat in a waiting area outside security where I happily ate my treasures.  I’m convinced the glory of those crème brûlées greatly dulled the tediousness of having to remove my shoes, jacket, belt, and laptop before being allowed to schlep to my gate.  I’m also pretty sure the high they gave me helped keep the plane up all the way to LAX!  😀

2 thoughts on “Stuff I Ate In California–San Francisco, Day 7

  1. I don’t know for sure if TSA would have confiscated my crème brûlées but I definitely wasn’t going to take that chance! I really wanted to be able to eat them in-flight. 😦

    I hope I can go back to SF soon too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

